Update from the Pennsylvania Federation of Republican Women

Greetings from the PFRW!

Five Pennsylvania Republican Women’s councils will be recognized by the National Federation of Republi- can Women at the NFRW Biennial Convention in late September. Bradford, Franklin, Montgomery, RWC of the Ohio River Region, SUN (Snyder, Union, Northumberland) and Wayne County Councils of Re- publican Women all submitted the necessary paper- work to participate in the NFRW Club Achievement Awards program. This important aspect of NFRW recognizes the accomplishments of local Republican women’s clubs/councils over a two years period. The results for the Pennsylvania councils will be an- nounced at that time.

PFRW’s Immediate Past President, Joyce Grant was the Co-Chair of the NFRW Achievement Awards Committee. PFRW Director, Judith Murphy and PFRW Public Relations Chair, Debra Taylor also served on the committee. During July each member of the committee helped review nearly 500 NFRW Club Achievement Award forms that were submitted by local clubs/councils from around the country.

Several young women from Pennsylvania are the recipients of special awards or have been named par- ticipants in key programs of PFRW and NFRW.

The Pennsylvania Republican Page 11 Andrews Kabis internship at NFRW headquarters

At the June PFRW Board Meeting the Anne B. An- stine scholarship winner was announced. Hannah Joy Ritzman from Thompsontown is the 2011 recipient of this $1,000 scholarship. Hannah plans on attend- ing York College in York PA. Kevlin Kauffman from Boiling Spring, PA has been submitted as a NFRW Pathfinder Scholarship finalist. Angela Kinnunen of Monroeville, PA was awarded the 2011 Dorothy this summer. Angela attends West Virginia University. Allyssa Nelson, is the Elsie T. Young Intern at PFRW. Allyssa attends Temple University.

The PFRW held its 2011 Convention from September 9 – September 11, 2011 at the Crown Plaza Reading Hotel in Wyomissing, PA. More information about the convention will be available soon.